Shop for CDs, Merchandise and Downloads here

Kathryn Tickell
Debatable Lands
Debatable Lands

Debateable Lands


‘Debateable Lands’, Kathryn’s seventh album, refers to a stretch of border country about four miles wide and over a dozen miles long, the ownership of which was long disputed by England and Scotland. The area became a constant menace and nuisance to both, becoming a haven for outlaws and troublemakers. The album is an eloquent reflection of the history, characters and atmosphere of the area. ‘Our Kate’ (featuring Troy Donockley on uilean pipes) was written for Catherine Cookson; ‘The Return’, a beautiful duet for pipes and cello, anticipates the eventual return of the Lindisfarne Gospels.

  1. The Wedding / Because he was a bonny lad
  2. Our Kate / The Welcome Home
  3. In Dispraise of Whisky / Swig Jig
  4. Road to the North / The Hanging Bridge / All at Sea
  5. The Return
  6. Kilfenora / My laddie sits ower late up
  7. Dustanburgh / Kathryn’s favourite
  8. The Magpie / Rothbury Road / The Cold Shoulder
  9. Stories from the Debateable Lands
  10. Our Kate — reprise

Get the latest news from Kathryn Tickell

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: . You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience from our website. Learn more